STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

COMMISSIONER Jared S. Chicoine

DEPUTY COMMISSIONER Christopher J. Ellms, Jr.



Concord, N.H. 03301-2429

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-3670

Website: www.energy.nh.gov

November 4, 2024

Daniel C. Goldner, Chairman New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission 21 South Fruit Street Concord, NH 03301

Re: DE 24-070 Public Service Company of New Hampshire d/b/a Eversource Energy Request for Change in Distribution Rates; Request for DOE Consultants' and Two DOE Employees' Remote Participation on November 19 and November 20 for Commission-Attended Technical Sessions

Dear Chairman Goldner:

Pursuant to the Hearing Guidelines issued on June 28, 2024, in the above-captioned matter, the Department of Energy (Department) submits this request that its consultants and two employees be permitted to participate remotely on November 19 and/or November 20, 2024, at the scheduled Commission-attended technical sessions. This request is being filed for all of the DOE's consultants in this case because the topics to be covered at the sessions have not yet been identified. ¹ In addition, the Department is requesting remote permission for Department employee Mr. Jay Dudley to participate remotely on these dates due to a temporary medical issue that will prevent his traveling from home on these dates. Finally, the Department is requesting permission for Mr. Stephen Eckberg, also a Department Employee, to participate remotely because he will be in Digby Nova Scotia on these dates.

Mr. Nicholas Crowley, Mr. Dan Hansen, Mr. Michael Clark, Sherry Wang and Dan McLeod of Christensen Associates are located in Madison, Wisconsin. Ms. Donna Mullinax of Blue Ridge Consulting is located in Travelers Rest, South Carolina. Professor Randall Woolridge is located in University Park, Pennsylvania. From Willoughby Consulting, Mr. Joe DeVirgilio is located in Venice, Florida and Mr. Ron Willoughby is located in Raleigh, North Carolina. Mr. Stephen Eckberg will be in Digby Nova Scotia. Traveling to New Hampshire to attend these technical sessions would be time consuming and expensive. This time and expense could be avoided by remote participation. The Department therefore requests that each identified consultant and Mr. Eckberg be allowed to participate remotely.

Mr. Jay Dudley will be unable to travel from his home to Concord, New Hampshire on November 19 and November 20 due to a temporary medical issue. Accordingly, to allow him to

¹ Once topics for these technical sessions are identified (and if this request is granted), the Department can alert the Commission as to which of these consultants will attend and which will not.

participate, the Department seeks permission for his remote participation as well.

As stated, the *Hearing Guidelines* require that requests for remote participation be made 15 days prior to the hearing at issue. The Department files this request for the Department consultants, Mr. Dudley and Mr. Eckberg, identified above, under the assumption that the requirements for remote participation in hearings also apply to Commissioner-attended technical sessions.

Consistent with the Commission's current practices, this letter is being filed only in electronic form.

Sincerely,

/s/ Mary E. Schwarzer

Mary E. Schwarzer, Esq. Staff Attorney/Hearings Examiner

Cc: Docket Service List

ClerksOffice@puc.nh.gov

aaron@rothschildfinancial.com

Aaguirre@clf.org

aglaserschoff@synapse-energy.com alexandra.k.ladwig@energy.nh.gov

amanda.o.noonan@energy.nh.gov

bhavumaki@synapse-energy.com

brian.callnan@communitypowernh.gov

Charles.J.Underhill@oca.nh.gov

chris@cleanenergynh.org

Clifton.Below@CommunityPowerNH.gov

cpalmer@synapse-energy.com

Deana.Dennis@CommunityPowerNH.gov

dghansen@CAEnergy.com dmullinax@blueridgecs.com

donald.m.kreis@oca.nh.gov

dsoutter@necta.info

elizabeth.r.nixon@energy.nh.gov Energy-Litigation@energy.nh.gov

eperkins@competitive-energy.com

golding@communitychoicepartners.com

jacqueline.m.trottier@energy.nh.gov

jay.e.dudley@energy.nh.gov

jessica.chiavara@eversource.com

jgoldberg@keeganwerlin.com

jjdevirgilio@gmail.com

john@johncoffman.net

joshua.w.elliott@energy.nh.gov

jrw@psu.edu

jvanrossum@clf.org

Marc.H.Vatter@oca.nh.gov

Marie-Helene.B.Bailinson@energy.nh.gov

mark.p.toscano@energy.nh.gov

mary.e.schwarzer@energy.nh.gov

Matt.LHeureux@unh.edu

Matthew.C.Young@energy.nh.gov

Matthew.J.Fossum@oca.nh.gov

mhershberg@keeganwerlin.com

mhorne@hcc-law.com

Michael.J.Crouse@oca.nh.gov

Molly.M.Lynch@energy.nh.gov

mtclark@CAEnergy.com

nacrowley@CAEnergy.com

nhregulatory@eversource.com

nkrakoff@clf.org

noel.rutherford@na.crh.com

ocalitigation@oca.nh.gov

paul.b.dexter@energy.nh.gov

rborowski@preti.com

rburke@nhla.org

sam@cleanenergynh.org

sandra.gagnon@eversource.com

scook@schoodiccapital.com

smurphy@mpm.com

srowe@hancocklumber.com

Stephen.R.Eckberg@energy.nh.gov

stower@nhla.org

tgriset@preti.com

tklaes@blueridgecs.com

twoolf@synapse-energy.com

wdejeanlouis@synapse-energy.com

willoughbyconsulting@gmail.com

Page #: 1

Printed:

11/4/2024